Learning through Play

As professionals at Crowle Pre-school we believe that children develop and learn best through play.  We provide our children with a combination of child and adult initiated activities in a safe and secure environment.  Children can progress and learn in their own individual way, providing strong foundations for their learning and development.

Parents are kept informed every step of the way, through informal and formal contact with their child's key persons and the rest of the pre-school team, for example 2-3 year check, reports, parents evenings and eLearning Diaries. We value the essential partnership with parents.

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child's life between birth and age 5.

This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.  From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.
Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.  These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

these prime areas are the most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning.
As Children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.  These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design

We use these 7 areas to plan your child's learning and activities.  We will make sure that the activities are suited to your child's unique needs.